Regionals & Lake Annette Hike

Friday came and went – here was our WOD:

I got to 105# with the jerk, no problem.  The rope climbs I am particularly proud of – I did all 5!  I have wicked bruises on my shin to show for it, but certainly worth the pain.  Definitely a rope climb PR.

The metcon – we were supposed to keep track of times, alas I definitely do not recall precise times.  Since I’m working on developing strategies and sticking with the plan, I decided I’d pace myself at 2:00/500 m on the rower – accomplished.  My double unders still need some work, but I did 10 to start, then finished off with singles x2.  The run was fun, and then the box jump overs were hell.  I am really unskilled at them!  Worse yet, Dana finished a full minute (at least!) ahead of me, so I had to humbly keep going even though I was dying a little inside.  A nice quick workout for a Friday afternoon!

Really, we were pacing ourselves since yesterday (Saturday) we were up at 7 to get ready for our hike out near Lake Louise.  We picked up coffee to go, Haley, and I drove us out to the mountains while Dana and Haley kept me entertained.  We had a much easier time finding our trail head than last week.  We hiked up to Lake Annette/Paradise Valley, although we didn’t do the full hike as it was still very snowy up near the lake.

Dana insisted I buy new boots for this week’s hike and I’m so glad he did.  They made a world of difference!  My heels still blistered and ripped open, but I think it might have been related to last week’s blisters (as they weren’t healed fully yet).  Surprisingly, I wasn’t in pain until I got down to the car at the end of the hike and removed my boots, and saw the extent of the blister damage.

The hike was great yesterday!  Here are some pictures of our very active 15 km hike (about 450 m elevation gain):

IMG_0363

The beginning of the hike was pretty easy going

IMG_0364

Interesting vegetation

IMG_0365

Two of my favorite people

IMG_0367

Dana & I on the lookout for grizzlies

IMG_0370

It was pretty overcast for most of our hike, but we didn’t get rained on luckily!

IMG_0371

My handsome husband in his element

IMG_0373

Ominous mountain

IMG_0374

Haley & I

IMG_0379

Where we almost turned back (right before Lake Annette), as the snow was deep!

IMG_0385

Lake Annette – frozen over but still beautiful

IMG_0389

We ventured off the beaten trail (because it was covered in snow) to explore

IMG_0390

Baby pine cones on the tamarack trees

IMG_0391

Many rocks to scamper over

 

Big rocks!  Big love!

Big rocks! Big love!

Needless to say, when we got back to the parking lot, we were exhausted.  Dana insisted on his post-hike beer, so we drove in to Banff to have dinner at Bear Street Tavern.  Haley and I shared a gluten-free pizza, and thought it was pretty tasty.  We all inhaled our suppers after our active days.  Dana’s heart rate monitor said he burned 1900 calories!  Dana drove us back to Calgary while we serenaded him with Queen songs.  After we dropped Haley off, we headed home to enjoy some vino and finish watching Avatar.  I love that movie!

We slept soundly until 8 this morning, but Dana (that crazy guy!) got up to golf 18 holes with a friend from the box.  He was praying they’d take carts, as we are both feeling pretty exhausted and sore today.  I’ve had a productive day thus far – doing some laundry, chatting with my mama on the phone, and bottling some kombucha.  My last batch of kombucha was kind of off – I let it ferment too long – so I’m hoping this batch turns out.  It sucked pouring the last batch down the drain.

I took out some leg of lamb to cook tonight.  I’m following Ottolenghi’s recipe for lamb shawarma from the Jerusalem cookbook which tastes pretty amazing.  Definitely not Jacked & Tanned-approved, alas a girl’s gotta eat what she wants occasionally.  With baby potatoes cooked in the juices, I think I might die a little tonight when we eat dinner.

We’ve had fun this weekend checking in on Coach Emily‘s progress at the CrossFit Games’ West Regionals.  As I’m writing this post, she is sitting in first place.  She is amazing to watch! The cheesy commentary by the Games’ commentators has been hilarious – especially how they keep mentioning how the forearm massages provided by her boyfriend are really paying off.

Other than the usual food prep today, I’m not sure what we’ll get up to when Dana gets home from golf.  I love weekend days like this – hopefully we can get out to enjoy the sunshine (and of course watch the last two Regionals events!).

How has your weekend been?

Leave a Reply

