Moose Mountain

How is it Monday already?  The weekend was fantastic (as always) and I can’t wait until the next one.

Friday

Dana and I went to the 4 PM class after work.  It was quite warm in the box.  We were quite sweaty.

As snatches are my least favorite lifts, I dreaded class all day.  I stuck with 55# on the bar so I could practice form.  Coach Eric kept telling me to push out my knees, but it felt exaggerated.  Like I was riding a horse.  I got through the snatches though with only minor internal complaining.  The handstand shoulder taps were laughable, only because I COULD NOT move my hands off the ground.  Gravity was strongly in effect.

The metcon was fun.  I was pleased to be leading the pack after the first round, but then Dana caught up and lapped me.  I kept 55# on the bar, and modified the T2B to leg raises (with only a bit of minor awkward kip-flopping).  The runs out in the sunshine were nice.  End result: 3 rounds + 3 power snatch.  And a whole lot of sweat.

Dana and I drove home and quickly cleaned up because we had a date night planned.  We went to one of my favorite restaurants, Cassis Bistro.  Although we had a reservation, we asked to sit at the (tiny) bar and I’m so glad we did.  I started off with some champagne and Dana had a beer mixed with lemonade, and we snacked on some olives (THE BEST) and Dana had some tomato soup.  For the main, Dana had the special, canard confit, which was pretty amazing.  As per the usual, I had steak frites with sauce au poivre.  I would eat that every day if I could.  For dessert, we shared the chocolate mousse and Dana had a few drams of scotch.  Such an amazing meal!

Saturday

We were up bright and early (7 AM, people) to get ready for our hike.  To change things up, we invited two of our friends, Scott and Paul, along.  Scott is notoriously early for everything, so Haley, Dana, and I were fed and watered by 8 AM on the dot but Paul beat him to our house.  More strangely, Scott was late!  Jokes aside, we were on the road by 8:30 and headed out to Moose Mountain, which is about 45 minutes from our house, out past Bragg Creek in Kananaskis.

I was a bit surprised by all the cars in the parking lot at the trailhead, but it makes sense that the trail is well used because of its relative ease and proximity to Calgary for us city slickas.

The first part of the trail, maybe 5 or 6 kms, is in the forest, gradually gaining elevation.  The last km is more exposed, walking along a rocky ridge, and then scaling the mountain up to the forest rangers’ station which is a fire lookout.

Bright sunny day on Moose Mountain

Bright sunny day on Moose Mountain

Haley

Haley

Sisters <3

Sisters ❤

Hikers on the heli pad at the summit

Hikers on the heli pad at the summit

3 Amigos

3 Amigos

Dana & I

Dana & I

Pretty spring flowers

Pretty spring flowers

Rocks

Rocks

More rocks

More rocks

A long drop down

A long drop down

Exposed ridge path back to trail head

Exposed ridge path back to trail head

More pretty spring flowers

More pretty spring flowers

The last big hill back to the parking lot

The last big hill back to the parking lot

I was pretty shocked when we were back at our car about 3 hours after we had left.  I had mentally planned 5-6 hours for the 14 km hike (450 elevation gain), so we were very fast!  Paul was relentless – who knows where he gets his cardio from?  Scott and I chatted most of the way back from the summit about nutrition.  That guy is a wealth of information!

There was some discussion about getting ice cream as we drove back to town, so off to My Favorite Ice Cream Shoppe we went.  I didn’t partake, but Dana and Haley enjoyed their cones while we played with a golden retriever pup tied up outside.  When we got home, I took an amazing nap after showering, while Dana and Haley did some woodworking.  I don’t know where they come up with these projects.

When I groggily woke up around 5:30, Dana was pretty exhausted and thinking about taking a nap himself.  We lazed about for an hour, planning to go to a 7 o’clock movie, but then Dana’s phone rang and his friend Morgan was on the other end.  We had planned all along to have supper with him, but both of us had completely blanked on the plans.  Luckily we were both ready to go, so we picked Morgan up, and went for pizza at Without Papers.  I had a g-free margherita pizza, with proscuitto added on after it was baked.  It was easily one of the best pizzas of my life!  SO GOOD.  The company wasn’t bad either.  😉

Sunday

Crazy Dana got up to golf on Sunday morning with some friends, while I elected to sleep in like a normal person.  My alarm woke me up at 7:30 (okay, I’m crazy too), then I quickly did a load of laundry and meal planned for the week.  Going back to modified paleo, baby!  I hopped in the car and drove to the Calgary Farmers’ Market to grab groceries, then on the way home I unfortunately won a traffic “award”.  Turns out, you do have to obey all posted traffic signage.  Damn it all anyways.

I had said I would pick Haley up to go watch her friend compete in a powerlifting event at SAIT that morning, so feeling a bit grumpy about my so-called award, picked her up a bit late.  We got there with a few minutes to spare, and cheered Kaity on.  I’m not very familiar with the rules of powerlifting, but it was really interesting to watch from a CrossFitter’s perspective.

From there, I drove home dreading my Sunday chores, only to find out Dana is the best husband ever and did them all before I could get home!

Instead, we both had a late lunch together, and then a long afternoon nap in the sunny office.  Supper was a healthy portion of Cineplex popcorn with peanut butter M&Ms sprinkled in, a bowl of chocolate chili, and a copious amount of water.  We re-watched last week’s Game of Thrones episode before this week’s aired.  I love that show so much!  The episode was a bit horrific, but I thought it was great.  I can’t believe the finale is next weekend.

Today

I’ve got a shoulder-heavy workout to look forward to after work, and then my best friend Mallorie is coming over for a walk after supper.  It’s supposed to be 30 degrees today and I can’t wait to get out and enjoy the weather!

7 thoughts on “Moose Mountain

  1. Sounds like a great weekend Kaitlyn.

    Those pretty flowers were my favorite wild flower while growing up in Sundre. They are a shooting star:-)

    Like

  2. How much did Mallorie pay you to be called her best friend on your blog? I’ll double her offer!! 😛 That’s so great Dana did all the chores, it’s the best feeling ever when you’re dreading something and someone else does it before you even get home!! Your hike pictures are beautiful!! Mitch and I did a “hike” this weekend as well, but it was a very short 40 minutes up 30 minutes down haha. There was a beautiful waterfall at the top though! Sounds like you had a great weekend 😀

    Like

    • LOL the bribe was substantial. I have two best friends silly Lindsay!
      I was so pumped he helped out. And by helped out, I mean did all the things.
      At least you got out for a hike! With all your running, the last thing you probably want to do is more cardio.

      Like

  3. Pingback: Twenty Six | Peanut Butter Kait

Leave a Reply

