Summer Weekend Fun

And just like that, another weekend has flown by. Luckily, I have a two day workweek to look forward to! Here’s what Dana and I have been up to the past few days:

Friday

Work was a big deadline day, plus I was helping a coworker with some of his workload, so it was chaotically busy and the time flew by. Before I knew it, I was off to Sunalta for more fun and games.

More hatch squats – 115# back squat for my 70%, and 105# for my front squat. It was SMOKING hot in the box as it was probably 30 degrees outside. I had been looking forward to the wod all day as it’s in my wheelhouse for sure. The heat kind of killed me though. I did it RX in 8:58. Dana was flying! I couldn’t keep up with my short little legs!

When we got home, we relaxed on the patio for a bit, then had BBQed chicken breasts and leftover Greek salad for supper. We went for a short bike ride after supper, then headed to see Pixar’s latest – Inside Out. It was so cute! I really enjoyed it, and laughed a lot about the character, Anger, as he reminded me a lot of Dana’s temper.

We also immensely enjoyed the Cineplex popcorn and inhaled the bag. Pretty much a perfect night in my books.

Saturday

We’d talked about going for a hike on Saturday, but knew it would be very hot out, plus had plans later in the day that we wanted to be punctual for. Instead of a hike, we went for a big bike ride through Calgary. Dana took me from home up to 17th Ave. for brunch at Corbeaux (surprise surprise). He had the eggs bennie and a side of toast (those Kinnairds live for carbs, I tell ya), and I had a latte with a side of bacon and fresh berries. Pretty tasty everything! From there, we headed up to Eau Claire, then east to the new East Village, then further east to Inglewood, then headed back home along the new 12th Ave. cycle lane. About 3 hours in total! It wasn’t a speedy bike ride, but that’s a lot of biking for someone who doesn’t bike a lot (me) (Dana was totally fine).

As we were biking in to Lakeview, we noticed a new-to-us outdoor workout area. I will definitely come back and use it! There were boxes for jumping, pull-up stations, and lots of other equipment. When we got home, I was pretty sweaty but felt like I needed a bit of a workout as we’d missed a brutal Sunalta wod that morning. I improvised a quick 20 minute tabata workout. Tabatas are high intensity sets where you do :20 seconds of activity, :10 seconds rest, for 8 rounds (4 minutes total). I did:

  • Hand stands
  • DB push-press (25#)
  • Planks
  • DB floor press
  • Sit-ups
  • And a half round of DB rows for good measure.

Needless to say, I was quite sweaty after.

Eventually we’d cooled off enough to get cleaned up, then headed to the Benjamin Moore store to get paint and the farmers’ market for groceries. It was DEAD in the market, which was shocking because it was Saturday afternoon. It was also CRAZY hot in the building. We were sweating profusely. On the menu this week: pot roast and steaks from Silver Sage, and a ton of fresh produce. It was worth the trip. When we got home, Dana chopped veggies like a professional vegetable butcher for a veggie tray and then we headed to our friends’ place for a BBQ.

With the weather so hot, it was a relief to sit out on our friends’ patio all evening. We had a great time and many laughs playing Catch Phrase, and Colin and Talia fed us like we were royalty. I hadn’t had any alcohol in weeks, so the glass and half of wine I had hit me like a bag of bricks. Many laughs were also had at my expense. An excellent night was had by all!

Sunday

Yesterday was a gloriously long day. We were really productive, yet had some downtime too, so it was a great way to spend a Sunday. With the heat in the house, neither of slept very well so we were ready to get up around 8:30. Together we cleaned the house from top to bottom as fast as possible because it was so hot already. Then we headed to IGA to pick up a few things, and I put together the pot roast recipe I used last weekend in the slow cooker when we got home (Dana loved the recipe and requested it be made frequently). We got cleaned up, then headed out to run errands.

Dana pulled a fast one on me as we left our house, and started heading the wrong way. I was confused, especially when we started driving through the park nearby, and he was intensely scanning all the vehicles parked in the various lots. Finally he admitted that Jenna, Nathan, and Bailey were there for the day and I helped him spot their vehicle. We had a nice little visit with them in the shade of their little tent, and laughed at Bailey sweating out the heat in her little diaper. She was definitely feeling the heat!

From the park, we drove by Phil & Sebastien to pick up an iced latte (HEAVEN), and then to Home Depot for a few items. Dana love Home Depot. I don’t. But it makes him happy when I go, so I put on my big girl panties and went to help him pick out a few things for the house. When we got home, we relaxed on the patio (Dana in his hammock) and enjoyed the heat. I fit in a phone call with my mom for about an hour which was really nice – it is hard living in a different city from your family, but phone calls can make such a big difference.

We grabbed the latest Avenue and City Palate editions from the farmers’ market so I savoured those while out on the patio. They are such great publications – and they’re free! I love reading about all the new restaurants in town. I put together an Asian steak salad for supper eventually, and it was amazing. I love the recipe!

After supper, we tidied up the dishes, then headed out for a walk. It was a bit cooler finally and just gorgeous outside. We really enjoyed strolling the neighbourhood and admiring all the beautiful yards and trees. We’re lucky to live where we do.

Despite the stifling heat in our bedroom, I fell asleep pretty easily thankfully.

Monday

Unfortunately Dana (the baby rhino) was up around 4:30 this morning so that means I was up as well, although I pretended to sleep until 5:10 when my alarm went off. I don’t feel too tired today thankfully, which is great because work kept me very busy all morning with a noon deadline to meet. The afternoon will fly by, I’m sure, as I have plenty of other tasks to get done before work is over tomorrow (and my five day weekend begins).

We’re going to the 4 PM class tonight. Second last hatch night! It looks pretty light (thanks Coach Eric!), but the wod will be a burner – cleans and burpee box jumps.

And with that, I’ll sign off for now.  Apologies about the lack of pictures!  I’ll make up for it!

Leave a Reply

