3 MU Monday

The week is whizzing by, as usual – these four day work weeks are luxurious but also make it difficult to fit everything in!

Strangely, I had a bad sleep Sunday night, so I was pretty exhausted all Monday.  I could barely put together a sentence, so you can imagine being a functioning adult was a bit hard.

Regardless, because I’m a glutton for punishment, I headed to the 4 PM class at Sunalta.  The WOD looked fun!

I worked to 95# for my heaviest touch-n-go clean and jerk, and practiced my ring pull-ups (sans bands).  I did 4 rounds, then had to resort to the pull-up bar.

17 minutes went by fairly quickly.  I did the mandatory 10 double under attempts, then did 300 singles.  With Anna’s encouragement, I practiced muscle ups on the bar with a box underneath to give me some height.  I did all my muscle ups this way and hardly felt afraid!  Previously, I’ve been unable to get up on the bar because I was scared of… falling?  I’m not sure what I was afraid of before.  The kettlebell swings took forever, but I made sure to do 10 reps before breaks.  Box jumps were a sweaty slog.  And I was 70 reps in to the walking lunges when 17 minutes was up.  Nice little workout!

I chatted a bit after class with Anna and Megan, then headed home for supper (leftover chicken thighs and kale salad from Sunday), then off to see a movie – Trainwreck – with Haley.  It was so hilarious!  I laughed until I cried at the end.  Partly because Haley was cracking up – you have to laugh equally as hard as your sister in moments of hysteria.  That’s our relationship anyways.

As the movie was ending, I started to feel a migraine coming on but hoped that if I fell asleep, it would just fade away.  Unfortunately, I woke up around 1 unable to sleep because of the migraine and also because I think I had food poisoning.  I tossed and turned until 3:30, and took some Advil, then somehow fell back asleep until 7.

Clearly, today I’m still a bit exhausted from being up in the night, and my stomach is rather unhappy.  I’m blaming the chicken thighs because there’s nothing else to blame.  Ugh, food poisoning is the worst!

Work today was full of deadlines which contributed to how tired I feel, but I have to stay awake because there are squats after work and then volleyball later this evening.  I can’t let the team down!

zzzz,

Kaitlyn

Leave a Reply

