East Coast Vacation – Part 2

Our Halifax adventures continue…

Day 3

As the boys on the trip had a few golf games lined up for the mornings, a few ladies decided to do some hot yoga.  We headed to the nearby Bikram Yoga studio for everyone’s first-ever bikram yoga experience.  I’d never tried bikram before but knew what it was like – 105* heat, the same set of postures for each and every class, certain times you can drink water, etc.  It was what I expected, and although I’m glad I tried it once, I’ll be happy if I never have to do it again.  That was the group’s consensus afterwards.

Coffee and a smoothie from Steve-o-reno’s coffee shop afterwards hit the spot.  I was pretty much drenched so I was all about everything iced!

Once I was all cleaned up, I headed out shopping with a few of the “golf widows”.  We stumbled upon an awesome grocery store called Pete’s.  If I lived in Halifax, I’d be broke.

 We wandered around downtown for a few hours, but I didn’t make any purchases (in my usual fashion).  I swear, I open my wallet and moths fly out.
 When Dana got back from golf, we headed for lunch with Mom and Dad.  With sushi on the brain, we found a place many blocks away from the hotel and placed a huge order.  Dana is notorious for ordering about twice as much sushi as necessary.

    The four of us, stuffed full of white rice, headed down to the Pier 21 museum.  It was an extremely interesting experience for me, as my dad’s mom immigrated into Canada through that exact immigration spot in 1946.  My grandma Elsie was a war bride – she was from England, but married my grandpa who was a Canadian soldier.

war bride plaque

The museum has a special exhibit all about the war brides and their children, as many immigrated in the years following the second world war.  There is also a research center where all Canada’s old immigration records have been computerized/scanned so that you can look up immigrants.  This was the best part for me!  Clear as day, Grandma’s immigration records were in the system including when she sailed over, the ship she was on, and many other details.  It was really interesting for me to learn more about how she came to Canada!

The museum had lots of information to read and exhibits to view, but we were a bit squeezed for time so we zipped through to fit it all in.

I thought this dress was gorgeous!

I thought this dress was gorgeous!

A cartoon from an old British newspaper making fun of all the Canadian aspects of life that immigrants could anticipate.

A cartoon from an old British newspaper making fun of all the Canadian aspects of life that immigrants could anticipate.

Later in the evening, we went for supper with my parents and their friends Ron and Gloria to the Bicycle Thief.  If you go to Halifax, go to this restaurant.  It was fabulous!

Day 4

Since it was another golf morning for Dana, my friend Jenna and I ran the 2.5 km distance to CrossFit Ironstone for the 7:15 AM class.  With the humidity, we were already dripping sweat when we got there.

Gorgeous CrossFit Ironstone

With backsquats and Jackie programmed, I felt right at home.  We lucked out with a small class of three people.

I worked up to 135# for my back squat, which fit in with Sunalta’s programming for the day.

Jackie was pretty decent, although my arms were burnt afterwards.  10:50 on the nose.  The row took close to four minutes, and I loved that the thrusters were only 35#.  I could go all day!  I had to use the blue and green bands, combined, to finish it.

I was pumped to have a crossfit buddy for the trip!

We had a busy road trip today.  Everyone piled in to the rental vehicles to drive out to Lunenburg for lunch.  Lunenburg is a UNESCO world heritage site and is very charming.  We ate lunch and did a bit of shopping.

This dress shop had my name written ALL over it, but at about $200 per dress, I had to choose wisely.

Lamb Chop dolls – so random!

  

From there, we all headed on down to Mahone Bay, another charming little town with lots of little shops to check out.

A painting on the wall of the Haskap shop. Haskaps are extremely tasty little berries! We bought a few jars of jam and an ice cream to share. I could have eaten a tub of that ice cream!


After everyone had a look around and a snack, we continued on to Peggy’s Cove lighthouse.  Lots of tourists there!  We were there close to sundown, which was a nice time to explore.  
  
 
When we (finally) got back to Halifax, I was starving!  We headed back to the Bicycle Thief for another delicious dinner, and sat up at the bar.  They make a mean cocktail – I had the ginger fizz and it was so tasty.

To be continued!

3 thoughts on “East Coast Vacation – Part 2

  1. Pingback: 3 UB Monday & 13.2 Tuesday | Peanut Butter Kait

  2. Pingback: Twenty Six | Peanut Butter Kait

Leave a Reply

