East Coast Vacation – Part 5

Our adventures in PEI continued…

Day 7

When we woke up it was cold and rainy out, but I really wanted to lift some heavy things.  Dana, post-stag, decided against coming with me.  Solo, I ran to the Atlantic Fitness East center (about 1.5 km from the hotel) in the rain.  I checked Sunalta’s WOD and Eric had scheduled:

The good news is that Montague had a gym for me to use.  The bad news is that it was archaic!  None-the-less, I found an assisted squat rack/machine (the kind where the bar follows the track and has hooks to rack the bar) and put (I think) 135# on the bar for the squats.

After, as I didn’t dare throw a bar around to do power cleans, I subbed 35# dumbbell snatches and did the burpees.  It was sweaty and effective.

I was pretty tired, but I ran back to the hotel and then rolled out.  The rest of the day was so much fun!

Dana took a day off golfing and took me for lunch at Terre Rouge in Charlottetown.  We shared a cheese and charcuterie board, and Dana had chowder and I had a beet salad.  And really good coffee!  The blue cheese was delightful.  Makes me a happy girl!

Unfortunately, we’d forgotten our umbrella and rain coats and while we ate, it monsooned.  We hoped it would clear up so we could wander around downtown and shop, but it wasn’t meant to be.  Instead, we hopped in the rental car and drove up to Anne of Green Gables.

 

Fortunately, the rain stopped and we were able to enjoy the grounds and walk around without getting too damp.

  
 From there, we drove through the Cedar Dunes park, and then to the Dunes art gallery and had a 20 min nap in the parking lot.  We’re getting good at naps! We didn’t have much time to check out the gallery as a result of the nap, but what we saw was lovely and apparently lunch is really good there.

 The highlight of the day, and possibly the trip, was our trip to Inn at Bay Fortune for dinner.  Seven courses of locally grown ingredients prepared simply to highlight the natural flavours.  Mmmm. My favourite course was the pork and potatoes, and the special marshmallow for dessert.  When Dana made the reservation, he’d told them my dietary restrictions (g-free and no eggs) and they were so effortlessly accommodating.  It was wonderful!  I had g-free chowder, and the marshmallow was a made-for-me dessert.


  
  
  
  
  
  
Drove back in the dark and crashed hard. Fun day!!

To be continued!

Leave a Reply

