Friday Faves: Week Numero 2

There have been lots of things this week that made me smile!  Plus, the weekend starts in mere hours so that alone makes me feel like:

Movie date on Wednesday

Let me tell you, climbing Mount Everest is not even remotely on my bucket list.  Especially after seeing “Everest” this week!  Dana had read the book it was based on, and wanted to see it in IMAX 3D, which was as intense as it could possibly be.  The movie was pretty interesting but I 110% never even want to climb to Base Camp.

Reading “The Martian”

So here’s the thing – Dana is not really a laugh-out-loud guy.  He’s got a great sense of humour, and likes funny things, but basically him making an audible laugh is like seeing a unicorn.  “The Martian”?  Dana burst out laughing multiple times while reading it.  So of course I was dying to read it as soon as he was done so I could understand what was so funny!

And it is funny!  I’m only about 10% done, but it’s made me laugh multiple times.  It’s kind of math/science-y at times, but I like the concept of the book.  I’m sure we’ll see the movie when it comes out!

Date night tonight at Cassis Bistro

Favorite restaurant in Calgary, hands down.  I always order the steak frites and devour the entire plate.  Don’t judge me.

Learning how to budget

Although Dana got a package when he was laid off, due to the uncertainty of how long it will be until he is gainfully employed again, we’ve adopted a strict family budget.  As we’re both huge foodies, in the past, we’ve always blown our (less rigid) budget on eating out, dates, and groceries.  I’m really proud to say that this month we’ve kept our grocery and date night budgets within the parameters we set for ourselves.  Yay us!

Long walks with Mara

Dogsitting Mara has gotten us off our asses  the couch and out on many walks after work.  Last night we walked her for an hour, after our workout.  All three of us were exhausted after!  But the great kind of exhaustion that comes from good conversation, exercise, and a warm fall evening.

Changing fall leaves

I’m not a pumpkin spice girl (don’t hate me) but I do love the changing of the seasons.  The leaves in Calgary are very colorful right and the city is beautiful!

This always makes me laugh even though I’m not even all about the pumpkin pie:

Handstand push-ups for the win! Plus feeling comfortable doing snatches/overhead squats!

This was Thursday’s programming from Sunalta.  I worked to 105# for the push press.  The dragon flags are supposed to look like this:

Although I can certainly get vertical like a gymnast, lowering myself with grace proved difficult.  I’ll leave the dragon flags to Rocky.

The WOD was as long as it looks.  I was pleasantly surprised to find that I felt far more comfortable in overhead squats this week, largely due to the clinic on Saturday I’m sure.  Of course I only had 55# on the bar but WHATEVER.  Confidence is half the battle.  Or more.  The other thing that made me pumped was knocking out handstand push-ups like a boss.  RX.  Gainz!

*****

Interesting blog reads:

*****

And with that, I bid you adieu.  Enjoy the beautiful fall weekend!

Leave a Reply

