Weekend Gainz

Am I the only one who wishes all weekends were at least three days? These two day weekends are not enough time to get ALL THE THINGS done.

Friday

Dana and I hit up the 4 PM crossfit class after work.

I was pretty sore from Thursday but the back squats felt pretty good. 100#, and some plyo push-up practice. My shoulders were too tired for more handstand push-ups!

The WOD was just quick, but still made me roll my eyes a bit. I was slow but steady on box jumps, and did the kettlebell swings unbroken (RX), but had to break the thrusters up. Why do thrusters never get easier? More than anything, the pull-ups are the part that slay me! I insisted on using a blue band and doing them strict, but they took FOREVER. I probably took two whole minutes to struggle through 10 pull-ups. I can’t wait until I have the strength/coordination to kip! Finished somewhere in the ballpark of 7:50 but ended slightly frustrated.

After, we took Mara for a huge walk and enjoyed the fall leaves in the neighbourhood. Then I took slightly longer than I should’ve to get ready, and we headed to Cassis for our date. It was fabulous as always! We started with the olives and lamb merguez sausage, and Dana had the mushroom soup. For mains, Dana had the lamb and I had my favorite steak frites. To finish, we had something called a religieuse (I think) which involved cream puffs, chocolate sauce, and hazelnuts.   Dana handled the cream puffs, and I basically licked the plate clean – that chocolate sauce was too good!

Photo, Cassis Bistro's Facebook page

Photo, Cassis Bistro’s Facebook page

I had great intentions of staying up late and watching a movie with Dana, but ended up falling asleep around 10. Whoops!

Saturday

Mara and I had a quick walk around the block, then I headed to crossfit. Megan and I teamed up for this partner WOD:

We both snatched 70#. I felt a bit more confident with Em’s workshop under my belt, but not brave enough to go much heavier. My first reaction when snatching anything heavier than 65# is to muscle snatch it…

We scaled the clean and jerk to 85# and knocked out 38 reps. Probably could have done RX, but my shoulder was feeling kind of sore so I’m glad we went a bit lighter.

The sprints were fun – I did three 200’s and Meg did 2+150m. When it’s only five minutes and you have a teammate, you can motivate yourself to go pretty fast!

After a bit of post-class visiting, I headed home to clean up and then we went to get groceries from the farmers’ market. We’ve scaled back a bit with our spending there, but it seems a shame to stop shopping there when it’s prime time for Alberta produce.

We went home to put together a Greek salad as our contribution towards dinner, then grabbed Mara and headed out to Cochrane for a visit with Dana’s parents, before driving out further to visit one of Dana’s old coworkers. She made a huge pile of BBQ ribs for dinner and we all ate like kings! We had a fun night with lots of visiting, and then I drove us home around 11:30. At least the moon was bright to help me see on the way home!

Sunday

Bright and early, we took Mara for a big walk by the reservoir, and then got ready and drove to the airport to pick Dana’s sister and family up. We had a nice time visiting as we drove them home, and Mara was beyond happy to have her humans home. I think I’ve read that dogs have no concept of time, so I’m pretty sure Mara thought they’d abandoned her forever.

We had a late lunch at home and then proceeded to do a bunch of cleaning in preparation for our dinner guests. Haley and her new-ish boyfriend came over, as well as Megan and her husband Wade. I made my go-to company meal of Jamie Oliver’s roast chicken and potatoes, along with new-to-me Ottolenghi roasted carrots with tahini yogurt.

Those carrots are so amazing! I wished I had made double the recipe (and in the future I will!). For dessert, we had a slow-cooker paleo chocolate chip cookie. The recipe has a crazy amount of sugar in it, so it was not surprising that it was very tasty and addictive.

We had a great time with many laughs and (I hope that) everyone left full and happy. After the busy day of cleaning and cooking, I crashed hard as soon as everyone headed home.

Monday

Today is a big deadline day at work, but I’m really looking forward to the WOD after work. It’s up my alley! Power cleans, back squats, burpees… I’m also excited because my coworker/friend, Colin, has decided to come back to Sunalta so he’s joining Dana and I after work. #drankallthekoolaid

How was your weekend? What were the highlights?

Leave a Reply

