Nemeses: Snatches & Double Unders

Probably the fanciest word I’ve ever used on my blog: nemeses. It’s all downhill from here, folks.

Yesterday was a “goat” day.

Where you look at the programming and think: I am not fond of most of those movements and would rather skip class.  Goats are the hardest things for you to do; the things that require the utmost stubborness to conquer.  That’s when you know you ought to go.

On the agenda:

The more I practices snatches, the more I think my issue is a combined lack of aggression and confidence under the bar. Strength isn’t the issue. I move my feet like a ninja (quietly), and that’s not very aggressive. I move slowly, and that’s not aggressive. Yesterday, I worked on speed and noise and got to 70#. With a bit of muscling up at the top because I’m a big baby. I am (not so) patiently awaiting that lightbulb moment to happen when I realize I am capable of moving like a strong, sturdy bull in a china shop.

bull in a china shop

Then snatching won’t seem so bad! Did my pull-ups with a red band just because.

The WOD annoyed me because anything with burpees and kettlebell (KB) swings is my jam. The 100 double under buy-in – not so much. Regardless, because it was a goat day, I did all the double unders even though it took me forever. My longest sets are about seven reps. 100 takes an eternity when it’s seven reps at a time. But it’s progress. The KB swings and burpees were the fun part. Done in 7:44, but the double unders took at least 3 minutes alone. I was ridiculously sweaty after, which made me laugh because it was such a short WOD.

Instead of going for a walk after work, Dana and I invited Haley over for lasagna and a visit. Just like old times, before she got so busy with her semester. After eating too much lasagna, Haley made us banana muffins so it was a pretty carb-tastic evening. We finished the night off with some Dragons’ Den, and Hay and Dana were watching Walking Dead as I went up to bed.

I’m not too sore today, fortunately, as the WOD looks intense! Lots of rope climbs to warm up our shoulders, then an 18 minute AMRAP with thrusters, pull-ups, push-ups, and sit-ups. Phew! I’ll be glad for my carb-tastic evening when the AMRAP rolls around. 🙂


On Saturday, the second portion of Rep The Box is being hosted at CrossFit Sunalta. Looking forward to claiming our rightful spot as victors at last on our home turf!

The events were posted yesterday:

  • Clean & Jerk Ladder – starting weight 95/65, you can choose any weight to do, you can go more than once, team that get’s furthest into the ladder wins
  • 21′ Rope Climb relay
  • Double Under Off – mass start, 2 scores: 1. last team jumping wins 2. total double unders
  • 20 KBS / Burpee box jump over relay
  • 5min Max Wall Balls – mass start, 2 scores: 1. total WBs 2. biggest UB set (UB set must be RX weight 20/14, appropriate scaling allowed for total WBs)
  • Team Bob-It Relay (fun game)
  • Synchro Grace
  • Beer Chug

I think we can compete in three or more events, so I’m hoping to do the bolded ones.   Hey, if it’s a fun competition and you can play to your strengths, why wouldn’t you?!

 

One thought on “Nemeses: Snatches & Double Unders

Leave a Reply

