CrossFit Total & Weekend

Whew, another busy/relaxing weekend over and we’re in to February!

Friday

On Friday, I was just on the tail end of the cold I’d had all week (and subsequently had missed crossfit because of), so I was dying to get to class after work. We went to the 4 PM and it was a real doozy, especially because I couldn’t fully breathe.

For the jerks, I shared a bar with Meg and McKensi, and we worked to 105#. Which felt pretty dang heavy.

The WOD was what really slayed me though. I got through 4 rounds and 19 reps into the fifth, panting the whole time.  I did RX it though, double unders and all.  (Although I’m sure they weren’t pretty!)  I can string together about 10 at a time now, so I’m slowly making progress.  Sometimes they really click and I can do more!

For my first WOD since Monday, I certainly felt the pain more than usual. It took a long “after WOD moment” (AWM for short) with Meg and Dana to cool down and get my heart rate normalized again.  We’ve started doing group AWMs after crossfit to work on our mobility and actually cool down.  And socialize.

mobility

Dana and I were absolutely wiped after. We’d had big plans of cleaning the house and maybe going to a movie, but we voted in favor of dinner in and a couch night.  We’re pretty exciting these days.  The movie of the night was “About Time” on Netflix which is equal parts wonderfully British and hilarious, but also terribly sad.  I was sobbing by the end.  But it is a great movie, I swear!

Saturday

I woke up and felt like I’d been hit by a truck from crossfit, but seeing that the CrossFit Total was programmed… well, I had to go!

The Total is your combined best lifts for back squat, strict press, and deadlift, and is a great benchmark to see progress on.  I did the Total back in July and was eager to see my #gainz.  In July, my Total was 480.

With my new Christmas present lifting belt on, Meg and I shared a bar and worked up to our max. back squats. I was really happy to PR by 5# for a total lift of 190#.  It felt really good!

Strict press is a bit of a write-off for me as I don’t have much of a range. I worked to 85# and called it a day, but maybe I could have done 90#?

I was excited to test my deadlift, and really pleased when I successfully lifted 240#.

My new Total is 515 now! I’m very happy with my strength #gainz of late.  Dana PR’ed his strict press which was big news for him because with his shoulder issues, anything overhead is a royal pain.  Yay Dana!

When we got home, we had a cleanathon. Poor Dana.  Two hours later, the house looked 110% better.  Turns out owning a dog leads to a lot more vacuuming and floor washing… especially in the winter.

Dana elected to stay home, but I took Penny out for a very icy walk after and we both enjoyed the sunshine. It was 3 o’clock before I was eating my lunch!

Eventually I made us fish tacos from my Performance Paleo cookbook for supper, but I’m sad to say they were pretty mediocre at best.

Sometime after that we fell down the extended edition Lord of the Rings rabbit hole and watched part of the first movie. I love those movies!

elf

Sunday

After a brilliant sleep, I got up early-ish and let Penny out, and eventually hustled Dana out of bed for a big 5-6 km walk with Penny near the reservoir. It was really nice out, although still quite icy in places.

The soreness of our workouts was really catching up with us, and by the time we got home, we were both pretty tired!

sore

We got ready, and headed down south to Milestones for brunch with the Kinnaird siblings. SO GREAT to see those guys and the kiddos.  Brunch was so-so (I could only eat the fruit bowl and bacon though so I’m not the best judge), but after we went to see Dana’s sister Jenna’s new home.  It’s beautiful!  We got to play a bit with my nephew Kade after which was very entertaining.  He just started walking!  We had fun letting him walk back and forth between us, then applauding his efforts which made him exceedingly proud and happy.  So, so cute.

After, it was the usual adult weekend business of grocery shopping, but then we took a Lord of the Ring break and didn’t get up from the couch other than to make dinner. I made Ottolenghi’s roasted butternut squash with za’atar chicken thighs and OMG it’s so good.

Back to the couch we went for more LOTR until bedtime.

Monday

Now another week has started and it will be a busy one for me as it’s month end in the accounting world. Hopefully I’ll be back soon with another post!

2 thoughts on “CrossFit Total & Weekend

Leave a Reply

