Tips & Tricks: 16.5

Updated 3/25/2016: 16.5 is in the bag. If you want to read about how it went for me, see here

How is it the last WOD of the 2016 CrossFit Games Open season?  HOW?

ned stark 16.5 open

I’m sure that the whole CrossFit world guessed that 16.5 would involve thrusters.  My bet was 100 thrusters for time.  I was surprised, but not too surprised, when Dave Castro announced:

16.5

Standards detailed here

Anyone who’s been in the CrossFit world for a while would recognize this delightful workout as 14.5.  It’s tradition during the Open to repeat a previous year’s workout, although it’s always a gamble which workout it will be.  Repeating workouts helps us measure progress and see how far we’ve come!

I was just starting to drink the crossfit koolaid back in 2014.  I paid my dues to enter the Open, but I was stymied from the first workout on as it was beyond my capabilities then. In 2014, an official scaled option wasn’t offered, so I followed along week-by-week and made up my own modified version so I could tag along.   For 14.5, I modified by using 25 lb dumbbells and jumping over those instead of a bar.  It was hard!

With that said, I am actually pretty jacked to see thrusters and burpees combined.  As sick as it sounds, I actually like both movements.  I’ve been pretty sore all week from 16.4 (those deadlifts…), not to mention a weird kink in my neck (a mousing injury?  Dangers of the accounting world, my friends).  Hoping I can pull myself together for the last big hurrah of the 2016 Open season!

Since 16.5 is a recycled 14.5, there’s a ton of advice out there already in the internets.  Here are some tips and tricks to help you survive “the dark place”:

  • Coach Eric from my box, CrossFit Sunalta, is full of words of wisdom: know how well you can do thrusters and pace accordingly, save the 180º spins (on the burpees) for the last few rounds to conserve your energy, and BREATH.
  • This blogger recommends allowing yourself 20 minutes to complete 16.5  (We can’t all be Rich Froning.)  Be consistent in your burpees – they are your “rest”.
  • Tabata Times always has solid advice on the Open workouts – here’s some of their warm-up advice: “Spend some time mobilizing your hip flexors and front rack position. Spending some time in the bottom of a squat with a barbell on your knees will help with tight ankles as well.”

burpee advice

Although CrossFit Sunalta has hosted the Open on Sundays all month, as this Sunday is Easter, we’re all competing tomorrow instead.  Wish me luck!  Let me know how 16.5 goes for you!

thrusters and burpees 16.5

 

7 thoughts on “Tips & Tricks: 16.5

  1. Ugh! I was hoping we were done with burpees after 16.1. I also didn’t realize they were bar over until just now… guess it makes sense because how else would they keep the jump height standard. But boo! My back is still kinda achy from last week, so I’m hoping all these thrusters are taxing on my back. I didn’t do 14.5 because it was right before our wedding and I was also studying for an 8 hour exam for my career… the Open just didn’t make the cut haha. I did a bunch of 65 lbs thrusters last week and they were surprisingly not bad, but 84 sure is a lot. We’ll see! Good luck 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: 16.5 Accomplished | Peanut Butter Kait

  3. Pingback: Tips & Tricks: Open 17.1 | Peanut Butter Kait

Leave a Reply

