17.5 Accomplished

Thanks to my mama for the pics this week 📸

Can we talk about how relieved I am to be done with the 2017 CrossFit Games Open? Yes, I had fun.  Yes, I did crazy things.  Yes, I love the community spirit that the Open creates.  Yes, I love CrossFit.  And yes, I love competing alongside friends.

But ultimately I am relieved. This month was a busy one with an array of emotions and frankly, it wore me out.  The weekly challenges provided by the Open itself were just the cherry on top.

My best performances – and the ones I felt most like myself doing – were 17.1 and 17.4. I felt a bit like a giant turd doing 17.2 and 17.3.

17.5… I did it but it wasn’t pretty. The word on the street was that if you started with a good pace, the first five rounds (of the ten) felt like sunshine, rainbows, and butterflies, and then sh*t got real.

This was not the case for me. It could have been the less-than-ideal sleeps I’d had all week leading up to Friday, the (one glass of) wine I drank on Thursday night, or work stress, but 17.5 made me crawl in the pain cave from round one all the way up to round ten.  It may have been just as painful as 15.5 (the thrusters and rowing WOD – oof – but I didn’t have a blog then to record it on), but let’s just say it was even more painful because IT LASTED TWENTY FRIGGIN’ MINUTES.

My parents and Meg kindly came to CrossFit Sunalta to cheer me on, and then when I needed a judge, Meg stepped up to the plate (thank you dear friend!!).

The thrusters were totally fine. I did a few rounds with a 5/4 split, and a few with a 6/3 split.  I didn’t split because the thrusters were hard, but because I was desperately trying to keep my heart rate down for the double unders.  This theory didn’t work very well because I was breathing fire pretty much the entire time.


That pike meme I used on Friday morning’s Tips & Tricks post? It held true for me for the entire 350 double unders.  (Although Meg said it wasn’t the worst piking she’d ever see me do, so there’s that.)


Since I definitely wasn’t having an “on” day with double unders, it became more about knocking a few off, breathing heavily, then chipping away at a few more. 17.5 was so painful for me to do – my heart rate was redlining the entire time – but I was persistent and somehow completed all ten rounds exactly on the dot at 20:00 RX.


After I did my last double under, I collapsed on the floor for a few solid minutes while I got over feeling like complete death. I think my face was tomato red for at least the next two hours.  But I survived – both 17.5 and another CrossFit Games Open – yay!

I realize my score isn’t the least bit competitive; however, I did do more double unders on Friday than I’ve ever done before so I’m proud of that small gain. As well, once I got going, I realized that any time finishing the WOD would be a true accomplishment for me, so just to finish (RX) was enough.  I never want to do 17.5 again!


It was cool to see all my friends’ scores through the weekend – after all, everyone has their strengths. Some of my Sunalta friends are real firebreathers!  Dana did 17.5 on Friday evening with me, and seeing how smooth his double unders were both made me feel ridiculously proud and envious.  Rozie, Carrie, Anna, and Meg (and many others 😉 ) all had me beat this week.

My calves and shoulders were very sore on the weekend, but the quads/hamstrings pain that everyone else was talking about? I fortunately missed out on that!  I was glad to have done the workout on Friday night so I could enjoy the rest of my weekend stress-free.


I’ll be back in a few days with another post about what I’ve been up to in the background. See you then!

How was the 2017 Open for you? Favorite WOD? 

Leave a Reply

